NDCDEA Employees Meeting Bismarck Hotel and Conference Center November 21st, 2022

The meeting was called to order at 7:20 a.m. by President Dustin Krueger. A quorum was present. See attachment for present members.

Minutes:

The minutes were presented from the March 17th, 2022, meeting. *Tokina McHarry motioned to approve the minutes. Matt Olson seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.*

Financial Report:

There is currently \$98,415.89 in the NDCDEA checking account. Darci also reported that there are currently 63 paid members. *Billie Jo Hinders motioned to approve the Financial Report as presented by Darci Gahner. Easton Brown seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.*

Old Business:

• OHF Updates-Rhonda Kelsch

Two individuals will be taking over OHF responsibilities since her new position with the NDASCD. After 2023, a new grant will be written with a new allocation of three million dollars. It will most likely have new parameters/guidelines, but hopefully it will continue. Everyone was told to please make sure they are abiding by the deadlines for timely submission.

o 2023 Scholarship

Dustin will send out an email with all the scholarship correspondence in December. Winners will be selected by the end of February.

o 2023 Tree Promotion

Tree Promotion will be held March 7th & 8th, 2023 at the Baymont Hotel in Mandan. Planning is underway and agenda will be sent out in February.

o Northern Plains Regional Representative/NACD-Sarah Tunge

Trainings/Meetings-

There currently are Zoom training opportunities for "Working with Effective Boards". There is a YouTube link for these trainings and Sarah is hoping to continue with these trainings throughout the year. There are still monthly "Lunch & Learn" webinars put on by the NACD and 2023 NACD convention will be held February 11th-15th in New Orleans.

Updating Employees Handbook-

Sarah and Darci are looking for suggestions and ideas for updating and improving the Employees Handbook. This will be updated to an online format for easier access for employees. Employees with older handbooks are encouraged to look through them and reach out to either Sarah or Darci with their suggestions.

Dakota Legacy Grant-

Sarah will be giving a presentation on the grant during convention. The Dakota Legacy Grant is the partnership collaborative grant in which producers/clients can utilize any cost-share programs through any of the partnering agencies on an easy-to-use online format.

New Business:

• 2022 Appreciation Award Winner

This year's winning recipient is Rhonda Schell, from Towner State Nursery/NDFS. Rhonda will be given her plaque during Tuesday morning's awards breakfast.

Winter Workshops

There will be educational workshops to be held this winter. This educational workshop will be available for everyone to attend, and it is also being planned to be held in both the Eastern and Western part of the State for travel ease. More information to be sent out within the next month. There are also plans in the works to have another "Windbreak Technology" course in 2023.

o 2023 Director Election

AREA I--Dionn Schaaf nominated Easton Brown. Darci Gahner nominated Kristina Halverson. Both nominations were submitted on a written ballot/vote. With votes counted, Easton Brown-24 and Kristina Halverson-15, Matt Olson motioned to close ballots for Area I. Sarah Tunge seconded the motion. All in favor **AYE** and **MOTION APPROVED.**

AREA II--Jen Klostreich nominated Tokina McHarry. Billie Jo Hinders seconded the nomination. Kristina Halverson made a motion to cease nominations and cast a unanimous ballot with Sarah Tunge seconding the motion. All in favor **AYE** and **MOTION APPROVED**.

AREA III--Darci Gahner nominated Kari Beckman. Sarah Tunge seconded the nomination. Matt Olson made a motion to cease nominations and cast a unanimous ballot with Kelli Schumacher seconding the motion. All in favor **AYE** and **MOTION APPROVED.**

AREA IV--Darrell Oswald nominated Chad Thorson. Matt Olson seconded the nomination. Sarah Tunge made a motion to cease nominations and cast a unanimous ballot with Cassidy Fairbanks seconding the motion. All **AYE** and **MOTION APPROVED**.

AREA V--Keith Kinneberg nominated Molly Jugovic. Jaden Deckert seconded the nomination. Matt Olson made a motion to cease nominations and cast a unanimous ballot with Tokina McHarry seconding the motion. All **AYE** and **MOTION APPROVED**.

2022 NDCDEA DIRECTORS:

AREA I--Shannon Anderson and Easton Brown AREA II--Tokina McHarry and Matt Olson AREA III--Stetson Myers and Kari Beckman AREA IV--Chad Thorson and Dustin Krueger AREA V--Molly Jugovic and Cassidy Fairbanks

Other Business:

Nothing to report.

With no further business, *Matt Olson motioned to adjourn the meeting. Easton Brown* seconded the motion. Meeting adjourned at 7:50 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kari Beckman, Secretary